top of page

How the Bissenden Cup was won

After announcing back in April that we were to host the 2021 Bissenden Cup Final, we made it our aim to reach what would be a home final. Dove Holes had previous success in the Bissenden Cup during the seventies winning the cup in both 1972 & 1975. Fast forward 46 years and after 4 superb wins Dove finally got their hands on the trophy in 2021.

Round 1 – 16th May 2021

Dove Holes 74-1 v Dinting 72ao

WON by 9 Wickets

Dove won toss and put Dinting in to bat. This was soon to be the correct decision as Dove bowled the visitors out for just 72. Dan Gilbride 2-15, Shaun Critchlow 3-24, Ben Bagshaw 2-24, Dan Waterhouse 3-9.

In reply, Dan Gilbride hit 34 not out and James Gemmell 31 not out as Dove reached the target for the loss of 1 wicket to progress to the quarter final.

Quarter Final – 12th June

Broadbottom 212ao v Dove Holes 241-6

Won by 29 Runs

Dove won the toss and batted first away at Broadbottom. Dove got off to a flyer as openers Dan Gilbride and Dan Jones put on 126 for the firs wicket. Jones fell for 50 but Gilbride was supported by skipper Gregory who hit 37 from 26 balls. Dan Gilbride went on to smash 127 from 114 balls which included 16 fours and 5 sixes as Dove posted 241-6.

In a thrilling reply, Dove were soon on top reducing the hosts to 68-4 but the Broady middle order stood strong and pushed Dove all the way. Dove however picked up regular wickets and Broadbottom fell just 29 runs short finishing on 212 all out. Dan Gilbride pick of the bowlers 4 for 25.

Semi-Final – 11th July

Dove Holes 310-5 v Tintwistle 157ao

Won by 153 runs

Dove won the toss and batted first at home to Tintwistle and despite losing an early wicket raced to 71-2. A magnificent 155 run partnership between Dan Gilbride and James Gemmell meant Dove were able to smash a mammoth 310-5 from the 40 overs. Dan Gilbride hit 118 from 87 balls which included 10 fours and 5 sixes and James Gemmell hit 107 from 71 balls which included 12 fours and 4 sixes.

In reply, Tintwistle made a bright start but the huge total was always going to take some chasing down. Regular wickets put Dove well on top and the visitors were dismissed for 157. Sean Critchlow 3 for 26 and Joe hall 3 for 13 pick of the bowlers.

Final – 15th August

Dove Holes 156ao v Old Glossop 70ao

Won by 86 runs

Dove won the toss and batted first in the Bissenden Cup Final which was held at Dove Holes. Dove made a bright start reaching 35 without loss. The Old Glossop skipper Rob Adderley then produced a magic over which included a hattrick to reduce Dove to 39-4. Two further wickets left Dove in real trouble on 43-6. However, a stunning 103 run 7th wicket partnership between Shaun Cartledge and Joe Hall turned the game around. Joe Hall hit a brilliant 62 and Shaun Cartledge batted through finishing on 40 not out as Dove crept to 156 all out.

After a long rain delay, which almost saw the match abandoned, a fired up Dove side bowled with real pace reducing Old Glossop to 9-4. Dan Gilbride (2 for 14) and Sean Critchlow (3 for 15) with the damage. Tight spells from Dan Waterhouse (1 for 20) and 3 wickets from Dave Cartledge (3 for 21) so Dove close in on victory. Gilbride finished off the innings with a brilliant direct hit run out and knocking the stumps over sparking jubilant scenes as Dove sealed an 86 run victory, Old Glossop were all out for 70. Dove winning the Bissenden Cup for the first time since 1975.

Joe Hall picked up man of the match for his game changing 62 coming in at number 8.

155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page