top of page

2022 League Format

The league has today announced the format for the 2022 season.

The season is to run for 22 weeks from 23rd April 2022 until the 17th September 2022.

This season Dove Holes will compete in Divisions One and Two. The Second Team, after winning 15 out of 15 in 2021, become effectively a first team competing against other first teams in Division Two.

The First Team line up in Division One alongside champions Broadbottom, Dinting, Hayfield, Hazel Grove, New Mills, Newton, Old Glossop, Tintwistle and Woodley, with teams playing each other home and away.

Leg side wides & Duckworth Lewis are to be introduced in both Division One and The Bissenden Cup.

The Second Team line up in Division Two alongside the flowing First Teams: Birch Vale, Buxworth, Chapel, Charlesworth, High Lane, Hollingworth, Pott Shrigley, Stalybridge and Whaley Bridge, with teams playing each other home and away.

The 2022 season will begin with a Bissenden Cup fixture, Dove Holes look to have another good cup run after winning the Bissenden Cup in 2021.

There has been a slight change to the format of the T20 competition, which Dove Holes won in 2021.

T20 games will be played on Saturday 16th & 23rd July, with other group games played on Thursday nights around these two Saturdays. Bringing an IPL style short festival of cricket to the 2022 season.

As per 2021 group winners will progress to a Quarter Finals stage which will be played on a Sunday. Quarter Final winners will play a Finals Day with the Semi Finals and FinAl played on the same day on a Sunday.

The Sunday League is to be named the Derek Slack Sunday League and Dove Holes will enter a team in 2022.

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page